Learning Unity

So far, a certain behavior of mine has resulted in an increased refinement of my ability to use Unity.  The behavior is a mistake and I groan every time I realize I’ve done it again.  While following a tutorial or working on a project I will test the project by “playing” or debugging the game.  I’ll see something to change or start following the tutorial again and begin seamlessly modifying the game environment.  However, the game is still in debug mode and everything I’m doing will be lost when I exit debug mode.

Whilst following tutorials this can represent several minutes of steps.  I’m then faced with the dilemma: do I try to remember every detail of the past several minutes or do I just rewind and start over?  The compromise I’ve found is to try to recapitulate the sequence of steps based on an understanding of the arc of where it was all leading.  In one case, I had to start over.  I’d missed some unrecoverable detail that derailed the whole thing.  Otherwise, I’ve managed to slowly stumble my way back on track.

The benefit of this stupidity is that I’m stumbling back on track faster.  Mistakes can be training tools when we don’t fail to engage them.

Now, back to all that lost work…

Leave a Reply

