Saturday Tapas Class 3/22/14

Typically we focus on inversions but Sunday’s class is a seasonal 108 sun salutations (or as I call it: 108 different kinds of fun) and so Karin chose to focus on hip opening.

We began class with seated meditation, edge of our seats on a folded blanket.  I had been breathing calmly for several minutes before class and I kept sliding deeper.  I am working with many postural elements and so although my mind was very quiet there was still some stuff going on about remembering to push heart out on inhalation and let the shoulders rotate a bit in their sockets and broaden the collarbones.

There was also other stuff going on in the room as other students arrived and everything settled into place and while my eyes were statistically quite immobile behind my closed eyelids, there was still comprehension blooming as sounds formed meanings and thus a tiny darting of the eyes about.  Like the tiny vibrations of very cold matter.  (and so blooms an interesting theory of consciousness which just took shape as I typed these words: perhaps consciousness is some field of artificially cold “matter” somewhere maintained within the brain and pratyahara actually further cools this supercold consciousness matter-energy by witholding the excitation and thus kinetic energy normally provided by sensory input meaning bubbling up [neither here nor there, but fun nevertheless]).

Karin gave a few postural cues.  Knot in the right shoulder.  Let the shoulders move.  Breath into the upper back ribs.  All pertinent.

I’d love to give a play by play of the class, but I’m not sure if I’m capable.  Perhaps if I approached class with the added impetus to remember everything I would be able to.  And in reality, I should do that whether or not I blog about it because I should be reflecting deeper upon class.  In each one, I attest, I notice important things and important things are said.  Although I would consider myself a strong student, really I’m just a slack thing.  I could tighten up my “asana” on a number of levels.  I probably ought to.  Knowing’s half the battle.  Doing’s the other half.  Patience the third.  Planning the fourth: I’ll let a student’s strand run throughout tomorrow’s 108 sun salutations.

as if class weren’t right now
total attention cells buzzin’

We started with several variations of surya namaskara.  I tried to apply my earlier-in-the-day insight on how to raise my arms into urdhva hastanasa, involving timing the rotation of the arm bones with the lifting of my arms and the expansion of my upper-middle chest.  If I don’t get it right I get a click in my left shoulder.  Doesn’t hurt, but I prefer to avoid it.  What I had been doing is over exaggerating the delayed rotation of my left arm, but with the rotation sort of evolving spirally up my arm from the thumb and the timing of the breath I can get the left and right in sync and not-exaggerated.  The breath is the most important part for the avoidance of my click.

I’m not really sure where we went from there in exact or full sequence, although I could probably correctly order in time 3 groups of disordered asanas.  However, after trying, I realized it was not the right idea.  It would be like trying to hold a pose past steadiness and ease.  I did, however, manage to visualize/feel myself doing many of the things we did, so that will suffice for my practice.  And will be what I begin doing immediately after my next class.

We ended with an 8 minute savasana and I really felt one with the pose, maybe a little too one with the pose because my last exhale probably extended to upwards of, I don’t know, maybe anywhere from 30 seconds to a minute, and I basically woke up with the final tuft of air being lower-abdomen thrust-out.  Oops.

Leave a Reply

