Gazing Out

“Where do you see your life going?”

“I see a measured leveling out of my attachments to the world until I live a bare existence without even the need for contentment.  That is one way – by another, I nurture a few special attachments.  Do you want me to resolve that image in further detail?”

“Yes.”

“I’ll probably teach.  Not content, but approach.  Maybe I’ll write some content since I can always apply the approach, too.

I’d like a home and land and a cluttered office and open rooms with lots of windows and plants and warmth.  I’d like to not be the only person there – although I have, apparently, more stringent requirements than most in that I need a lot of alone time in the bargain.

I’d like to travel, but with a purpose.  Maybe learning.  Doing something other than just sight-seeing.

I’m going to continue to engage with technology as it develops – although I am interested in how it can integrate invisibly into a more human life more than in surrounding myself by it and being consumed in it.  That said, I could see myself transforming, through technology, into a transhuman – although it’s not clear to me what the purpose of a transhuman would be, yet.

In fact, I already look at the world around me with a nostalgic eye – one way or another I’ll be shedding this place and this time – but unlike in the past, there’s no security in imagining everything going on without me: this place and time is going to totally shed itself, as well.  In so many respects, everything around is just so many museum pieces, in respect to the major transformations the accelerating curve of technological advancement is bringing on its heels.  So many of the words we’ve created in the past 100 years are going to be forgotten and meaningless soon.  It can be hard to find solid, stable identity amid so many shifting sandcastles.

I like stone and wood and glass as building materials.

I like the style of mixing modern structure into the ruins of what was.  This can be the right way to perfection.”

One thought on “Gazing Out

  1. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a Reply

