Fingerfacing

I have thought of a great new idea.  I was thinking about a new tablet desk scenario and how I didn’t like my current laptop because of the large size of the base keyboard/speakers/touchpad/battery  portion.  But I realized that the base size was dictated by the screen size, which I wanted even larger than it already was.

A flexible screen wrapped around a half-sized base in my imagination.  Then the keyboard and screen merged into a single flexible wearable haptic interface, like a sleeve.  Or like those bands that snap around the wrist or snap straight.

Then I thought of just wearing the screen as a glove.  It could probably trend towards transparent thinness.  In any case, then my mind wandered to what sort of user interface this “hand shaped” haptic screen could sport.  At first I imagined touching the haptic interface on the one hand with the other hand.  Then I realized that was silly.  The haptic interface could interpret the movements of the hands engloved directly.

Yeah, that’s much more interesting.  If those haptic interfaces really do trend towards transparent thinness, then I’d probably have one on each hand.  The display would probably evolve in relation to some contact lenses to create a virtual environment around me.

By trending towards transparent thinness I probably mean simply be integrated into human skin.  Of course, I would want to be very careful with such technologies.  Is it going to poison me, either through material (lead, nano filaments, etc) or through some kind of energetic resonance (EM, vibrational, etc)?  What other dangers are there?

Nevertheless, woo hoo!  Bring it on.  Augmented reality, one way or another.  I really think contact lenses that display fine grained light computed on some nearby device and wirelessly transmitted is a reasonable near-term solution.  With that, all the other elements are in place, including 3d, gesture, and even haptic gloves.  All we need is to expand our puny operating system user interfaces into worlds with their own (internally reasonable) physical API.  A goal worthy of 60’sish moon intentions.

But, back to fingerfacing.  Fingerface is a user interface that tends to visually group things in a hand shaped pattern, which is to say a central node (the palm) extending off a core root (the wrist) and extending outo 5 customizable constantly varying connectors (fingers) themselves divisible into chained fragments (flesh from knuckle to knuckle).  Sort of like a neuron, too, with the cell body, axon, and dendrites, but with dendrites like segmented shapable strands that can be twisted around and brought into contact with other strands at intersection points.

All that as an organizational aid for the flow of information through an information system (read: human being).

Leave a Reply

