Cloud Atlas Review

In short, Cloud Atlas is a great movie.  The most powerful movie I’ve seen in the theater in years, perhaps ever.  A tear actually streamed down my face, twice.  Throughout the movie my eyes were moist and my sense of appreciation for the story and the directing expansive.

That said, it doesn’t surprise me that the reviews aren’t so great.  It is a complicated movie adapting to screen a complicated book.  I mean, David Mitchell is a genius.  The book, if you read it, you realize is an artifact right near the top of the semantic food chain.  Any movie that would do it justice (and this one truly does) is going exist at levels and employ techniques that will be outside the average person’s experience, or “comfort zone”.  No blame.

I was going to compose my review tonight, but realized as I started that I need to watch it again while taking notes to compose the review I really want to write.  So in short, my complete review will probably come tomorrow or Sunday.  I just wanted to get this out there.

Besides, I want to relax in the after glow of the emotional ark that it is (at least for those who can flow with its meaning).  Analysis will jar those feelings.

3 thoughts on “Cloud Atlas Review

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It’s a great movie, but not perfect. There was barely any emotional-connection I had with this movie and I don’t know why that was, but it just did not work out so perfectly for me in the end. Nice review.

    • jeromeyers says:

      Yeah, I actually had the impression, from watching the trailers, that the movie was going to fall flat to my heart, as most movies do for me. It seemed to be over stylized, and nebulously, I wasn’t sure I would be able to relate to the apparent graininess of the film. But in the end, I was emotionally moved throughout the entire movie. That almost never happens. The difficulty, I think, is that if you drop the flow of meaning for too long, it’s too difficult to get back into it. It probably helps that I read and loved the book and am sympathetic to the author, David Mitchell.

      Check back with my second review, I plan on analyzing my emotional connections to the movie and their continuity. Perhaps with that skeleton key, a greater appreciation of the movie will be unlocked?

  2. […] Cloud Atlas Movie Review […]

Leave a Reply

