Wwwocracy

[pronounced wuh-wah-kruh-see]

The internet is open to pretty much everyone.  I bet there’ll always be a global, open access network.

But is it really open?  You have to buy very specific technology to access it.  This technology is as much a key as a selectively distributed key.  Of course, it would be difficult to say that there is a great deal of selectivity going into who is allowed to purchase web access technology.  However, minimally one needs a laptop (tablet, etc) with wifi and reasonable traveling distance to a public wifi hotspot.  There are many people in the world for whom these options are not available.  I think we’re starting to bridge the gap however and that it is reasonable to assume that at some point in the not to distant future, everyone who wants to access the internet will have the opportunity, too.  So, let’s consider the internet open, for the time being.

At the same time, internet technology will continue improving.

The internet is global technological societies’ wild west.  It’s very cumbersome to keep track of what is going on out there, and there’s really a lot going on.  Our future is shaping itself along a frontier at a pace that cannot be managed effectively.  This is good, I tell you.  It encourages independence and separate growth.  In truth, humans ability to manage complexity is quite limited (I acknowledge the complexity of the LHC and other scientific and industrial machines, as well as the complexity of some pieces of software as the simplest solutiosn to complex domains, but global scale information and governance still eludes us).   Since we cannot manage complexity well (this is my hypothesis anyway [I like to be clear, sometimes, about when I recognize that I am expressing what is in fact an opinion written as if it were a fact {but I can’t do it all the time, else we get back to that overly nested, unreadable mess <like this>}]), it is best to let it establish it’s own metabolism.

“It is almost a miracle that modern teaching methods have not yet entirely strangled the holy curiosity of inquiry; for what this delicate little plant needs more than anything, besides stimulation, is freedom.”
– Albert Einstein

Imagine riding that wave of going-to-be-trending content.  In order to do this, you must participate (I suppose you could observe the participation of others [but even your observations would be registered as minor blips of participation {by analytics services, etc}]).  As we come to inter-categorize content we effectively, in lock step, create mind.  This is what neurons do.

I’m going to digress from wwwocracy as it would appear to us (catalyzed activity organizing on levels ranging from the individual to billions) and discuss for a minute how actual experiencings of the world (the so-called qualia) can be couched in the anatomy and physiology of the brain and the body.  This is important because it adds a completely superior resonance to everything being discussed when we start to consider the nature of metaphor in higher meaning (abstraction) and how all metaphors seem to be ultimately decomposed into basic somatic experiences.  

I like that root ‘compose’.  We can compose music, words, our outward appearance, even our biochemical selves.  We also compose metaphors (The Contemporary Theory of Metaphor by George Lakoff [also wrote Women, Fire and Dangerous Things, Where Mathematics Comes From, and More Than Cool Reason (and Mark Turner)]).  What do we compose metaphors out of?  Primordial experiences.  The feelings of weight, inertia, falling, brightness, expansion, emotions, social relationships, et cetera.  These sorts of feelings are really the atoms of conscious experience.  They are the little bits out of all the vast sensory data that are sublimated up the hierarchies of organization and transformed into experience–automatically woven into a quilt of lived memories.  Why are they brought up?  Probably because they are identified by some lower level system that has its instructions from above, a laundry list of the sorts of things it should be looking for, and, when it pattern matches a candidate, a vetting process starts.  Who knows how many independent systems are involved in the sublimation of a sensory data into a full-on experience.  It probably varies.  Things like vision are going to be processed very differently than weight or stretching of the stomach in response to eating.

To sum all that up and add another thought: Our continuous stream of experience is a fine selection over the top of a riot of mundane bits of information that has been sent through filters that transform the lower level protocol into higher level abstractions.  This also serves to condense the data.  But this doesn’t address why it feels the way it does to see bright monitor screen with a white background and black and gray limned rectangles.  Or why I feel the way I do sitting in the chair.  How is it that we are aware of anything at all, let alone the categorized qualities of that awareness???  The answer is going to be a bit of a slight of hand, but I actually think it’s accurate.  Basically, energy is beingness.  The brain is an organization of energy flow.  Events in the world stimulate electrical activity.  This electrical activity is then transformed by stages and brought into a context of energy wherein it’s presence serves to spike the density of energy in a region.  Things like vision continually send signals that are automatically routed through all sorts of transformational systems (line recognizers, border, depth, all sorts of minor details in what is composed into an “image” or stream of “images”) and, like a river, keep pouring energy into regions.

The key to the above is the idea that energy density makes a difference and that energy is equivalent to beingness.  I have come to take it as axiomatic because it is the only real union of science and spirit that I have found to work in relation to all the things I know (or think I know).  It is my working hypothesis.  I’ll dedicate another post to establishing the idea that there is only one will, one being, and that it forms and is formed by local concentrations that maintain their own boundaries and metabolism of energy, which is the currency of Beingness (Dasein).  These local self-maintaining concentrations of energy create identity and will.

That is all important to wwwocracy because it is the basis of my idea that globally catalyzed organization of human activity will, in factbe the physiology of a Being whose anatomy is the biological global ecosystem (forests, animal territories, bacterial regions, insects, etc), including human society and infrastructure (buildings, roads, cabling, piping, railways, etc).

Wwwocracy will simultaneously serve the roles traditionally labeled “government” and “neurobiology/psychology”.  Wwocracy is instrumental in the ontogeny of off-planet life of terrestrial origin.

PS: I wonder if there are microbursts of lighting in the brain, say, between axons?  Like there is some sort of storm of awareness that goes through the brain short-circuiting thought in an intelligent and adaptive way.  Perhaps it’s known to us as “Personality”?

8 thoughts on “Wwwocracy

  1. adamblansett says:

    Wow… Lol that’s deep. I must ask being from my own experience. Do you have trouble finding people that understand you? I know I do and the level you write is what seems atleast 100% greater then my normal speech to individuals and they still get lost it seems. Lol. That is not without saying that I love the complexity of the prospective and I enjoy having to think which of course heightens and raises my intellectual awareness.

    • jeromeyers says:

      Sure, I have difficulty finding people that are interested in putting forth the effort to follow thoughts like these, but I have a pretty good sense of when a person is following what I am saying and when they aren’t. On a blog, I don’t really care because I’m letting a bunch of readers decide for themselves. But in face to face conversation I don’t typically talk about these sorts of things because I have discovered that most people react as if it was an imposition on them for me to require of them to follow along. They don’t want to be rude, so they’ll listen, but they don’t really care.

      But at the same time, if I’m in the mood, I can be pretty good at using my sense of when someone understands to feedback into my words what is working and get across what I want to communicate while keeping them interested in the conversation overall.

      I’m still learning about blogging. I’ll probably start over, or at least, pour over my old blog posts and bring them up to my evolving standard for clear and efficient communication and inspiration of meaning.

      • adamblansett says:

        In understand completely and I know what you mean I have had t learn how to “dumb myself down” so to speak when talking to a lot of people. I myself am kinda them same way when it comes to blogging. I just let it come out naturally so to speak. I only ask because I was curious to see if I was the only one that has that issue from time to time and it is nice to know that i am not alone so to speak in that area.

        On another note. You said you are out of town on a business trip. I am curious what type of places do you normally go? Any interesting ones?

        Also judging from some of the comments you made regarding the UK I’m assuming (not something i like to do) that you stay there? I myself stay in the States and though I have never been to the UK I would like to go sometime.

        As a programmer what Languages do you, yourself use and which do find to be the most valuable?

        I myself do mainly web programming though I am also in the process of learning Java which isn’t seeming to be to hard since i usually stick to C based languages because it is easier to jump from one to the other since it seems that most of them are. What is your take on this?

        PS sorry if I asked a lot of questions as the saying goes if you don’t ask you don’t know.

        Adam

      • jeromeyers says:

        I don’t really consider it dumbing myself down so much as choosing to focus my intelligence on other aspects of the conversation or myself (for really boring conversation, like those about sports).

        Well, I don’t travel half as much as I’d like to. This is just a couple weeks in cooler climes than my desert home.

        The UK is nice. I’ve been there. Can’t say I know it very well, however. It’s actually in somewhat of a cultural blindspot for me, it’s very close yet shifted in disorienting, difficult to focus upon ways.

        I prefer lisp, javascript, c#. I’ve been considering f#. I stay away from Java. I like terse code and c# is pretty good at that with it’s implicit typing var x = 0; vs. int x = 0; This makes a big difference when you’re talking:
        GreatFliptyWidget myGreatFliptyWIdget = new GreatFliptyWidget();

        Instead, you have:
        var myGreatFliptyWidget = new GreatFliptyWidget();

        And the compiler makes the obvious inference. If it isn’t obvious, because of inheritance, or because the variable is the result of a method call whose name doesn’t clearly specify the return value for the purposes of self documenting code, then you can explicitly declare the type.

        I like C based languages. The symbols are well thought out and properly indented code can do a reasonable job at revealing the logical structure of code.

        Javascript has been described by its creator Brandon Eich as c syntax lisp.

        Edit: You could probably have a language that was very terse. Instantiating a type would automatically create a block level variable pascal-case-named after the Type (difficult, however, because of naming collisions).

      • adamblansett says:

        I know what you mean. Java is a little more tedious in the way it creates a variable. If you are planning on doing your personal website based off of WordPress’s open source script I would recommend learning PHP in a OOP manner. It is not much different then other C Based Languages. One difference would be that when you declare a variable you do it with the dollar sign like so $fito = dog; of course this is very simple though you get the point. Where PHP didn’t seem to much but handle Session Variables and deal with the database in past years it has evolved to become quite OO with classes and many other things. Arrays do seem to be one of the most common things you use in it though I personally try to pull most of that data from the database before I build the array and make it as much dynamic as I possibly can. You can put JavaScript in it. In fact WordPress uses JQuery in a lot of things and comes packaged with it. I am guessing since you do JavaScript you probably know or have atleast played with JQuery and probably AJAX as well. JavaScript being based off of ECMAscript is C Based and ActionScript is also based off of ECMAscript. If you have ever done any Flash work then you know what I mean. C# is fun and I like it mainly for its cross-compatiblity and I say this because as long as a PC has the version of .NET framework you used it will run in most cases and of course you can include it in your installation package. As far as the Web side of things with it. It can be fun there as well though in order to use it you usually have to use ASP.Net which where I like ASP.Net it is not one of my favs and I use PHP more. I figure if PHP is good enough for Facebook then its good enough for me LOL. Now a benefit to using ASP.Net is it is a lot easier to us an Enterprise Level Database such as MS SQL or Orical. Being that it is based off of MS it only makes since to use MS SQL and where you can do this with PHP its a lot easier with ASP.Net.

        I have started getting into Java for a few reasons. 1 Most phones are based off of Java : Android, BlackBerry, etc… and 2 you can do so much with it since it is a higher level language like C++ and Object C. You can do web stuff with it and can use Orical though that can be a Pro and a Con. Orical is scalable though it is also expensive.

        Well I think I will stop there. LOL

      • jeromeyers says:

        Yeah, I know PHP. I just didn’t list it because I don’t like it much. Of course, it can certainly get the job done. But it’s just a grab bag of stuff, half of which isn’t really OO anyway. Interfaces, type hinting, namespaces. It all annoys me in PHP. I do like it’s dynamism, but that’s true with most scripting languages.

        Phones are about the only reason to get into Java, these days, seems to me. I’m just going to involve myself with the Windows phone ecosystem. It takes too long to learn a new platform. I don’t want to know what JavaBeans do or why I need them to host web services, or whatever they are.

        It makes sense to me that Oracle gained the rights to Java. I’ve always been as interested in Oracle as I was Java. Not that I think M$ is really the answer. But, as Hunter used to say: “It works for me.”

      • adamblansett says:

        LOL yeah I hear you stick with what your used to and what works. My only thing is that everything is shifting mobile so I like to be ahead of the game. On top of that I also realize supply and demand and when it comes to Java and Jobs the Demand far out ways the Supply which means better pay. I am wondering how well windows mobile will be. I know that there is a little scare about using android since the whole case with Apple and Samsung which Apple is really going after Google with this and its obivious since it is basicly a case of who shot who. I speak about it in precent tense since even though Apple won so far its not really over because I am sure that Samsung will Appeal it. I mean It would be stupid for them not to. Enough about that. But Google has given Android to these phone companies for free as part of there Mobile Ads Campagn which I get. So I really don’t see them giving up that turf by much, not to mention Google is willing to work with others like Adobe to name one which Apple thinks they are to Big For. Me personally I see what Apple is doing is a way of trying to make sure that what happen to them by MS in the 90s doesn’t happen again. Samsung’s Tab which was one of the products in question Supported Flash and the IPad 2 didn’t.
        Anyways. I do know what you mean about PHP though it is starting to grow into a lot more then what it was made for a lot like JavaScript has. Anyways until next time.

        Adam

  2. adamblansett says:

    On a blogging note : for SEO purposes and to keep your bounce rate low.as well as increase your click through rate don’t forget to use the more tag in your articles. It is the line in the WYSIWYG or ALT+SHIFT+T works as well. It will create a cut off on the article on the front page with a read more link.

Leave a Reply

